Books I grew up on.

23 12 2008

 

Partly Cloudy with a chance of meatballs

Partly Cloudy with a chance of meatballs

Grandfather tells his two grandchildren a story about a town called chewnswallow. It’s a nice town, but the only difference is that breakfast, lunch, and dinner falls from the sky. Everything is right in that town, until the food/weather goes crazy. Blizzards of cream cheese and jam sandwiches, and thunderclouds of large hamburgers and a giant pancake flattens the school, forcing the residents to permanently move out.

The illustrations are delicious and rich with detail, I’d read this and imagine everything in the town happening to my town.

Fran gets a pig and he becomes Wilbur. He’s a precocious pig and in his lonliness he befriends a spider named Charlotte. They become friends and when they found that Wilbur would soon become christmas dinner, charlotte cooked up a plan to save his life. And it does. And the end makes me cry every time I read it and watched the cartoon.

Image of JT by Jane wagner

This inner city poor kid happens to get into a lot of trouble, to his mothers dismay. He happens upon a cat with only one eye he named Bones. his mom didn’t like cats so he rigged the junkyard and trash into a home for the cat and would add tuna to mom’s shopping list for the cat. I have been looking for this book for a while. I loved it a lot. I cried a lot at the end of it. It was also the first time I had ever heard of using baking soda for toothpaste.

What do you do when your brother is hyper and slightly off kilter? Peter doesn’t know either, but it’s never not interesting living with Fudge. It was fun that me and my brother both loved reading this book together. I need to read it again as I can’t remember the plot anymore.

A lonely boy befriends a balloon. He takes it everywhere, then one day some bullies came and popped his balloon only to have all these other balloons coming to his rescue and aide and he flies off over the world. So this was a silent french film. I didn’t know that, I would read this book  because I understood where he came from, that kid, I felt the same way.

(Many titles from that series)

Collection of scary stories from the familliar (And he had a hook, they found on the handle of the car) and the unusual stories that are supposed to chill your bones. Instead it would get me to thinking. And I half-memorized the poem that makes no sense… (There was was a man in leeds/ who filled his garden full of seeds./and when those seeds began to grow. etc.)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

